Posted by: Aldershot | December 26, 2009

Tales from the free week end

TF2 being out for over 2 years now, most who play the game are quite familiar with it. Simple questions like “how to uber?” or “how do I change my disguise?” are questions of the past with an experienced community playing the game…. right? Maybe not. Just last week end when the War update went live, Valve also offered TF2 for free. With the free week end, came in a steady stream of brand new players who have little to no experience. It is good edicate to be pleasant, patient, and understanding to the free week enders, but with an already experienced community behind the game, it’s hard not to snicker at some of the things they say and do, no matter how polite you’re trying to remain.

Over at the TF2 forums, the community are sharing funny tales from the free week end. Here’s some of the adventures TF2 land had to offer during this time.

Posted by bolthebolster
-Free Weekender has found Tyrant Helm-
Other people on server flame him.
Me: Wow, you’re lucky with that one, matey.
Free Weekender: Why do I keep finding these items that aren’t weapons? I keep discarding them but I keep finding them again.
Every single other person on server: O_O

Posted by Mazungo
Dustbowl, second stage:
2 Engies building on the same spot. Me and a teammate explain to them in a polite fashion why this is a bad idea.
The two of them are getting in a civil argument about who has to rebuild etc. After a pause both blow up all their stuff. *facepalm*
We got lucky and managed to win the round, but all the reasoning while being under heavy fire was hilarious in its own way.

Posted by SuperkingX1
The best I saw was an uncloaked spy (no disguise either) attempting to sap…
…an uber’d heavey.
He also accused me of hacking when he tried to sap my sentry and just stood there while I smashed his sapper and his face.

Posted by JadeNorse
I was playing scout on Double Cross. Went and got the intel, brought it all the way back to our sewers, where I got killed. Luckily, one of my teammates picks it up.
He brings it ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE ENEMY BASE
Then, because the score was tied, the other team caps and wins the match
I died a little inside

Posted by brooka
“How do I pick the flag?”
He stood their for like 5 mins, trying to pick up our own intel.
Epic Fail!

Posted by ╩ING╩
FW. Why won’t it let me pick up the loot? *Staring at a dropped eyelander*
Me. You can’t pick up “loot” it’s random.
FW: Ya you can, look at that guy. *Motions towards an engi scavaging for metal picking up weapons*
Me . He’s an engineer, he’s getting metal to build his stuff.
FW: So you pick up metal as an engineer and then you build the loot?
Me. No… the engineer builds the sentries, and dispensers, and teleporters, all “loot” is random.
FW: Thats ♥♥♥♥ing stupid, why the hell would the loot be random? whats the point if you cant pick up loot?
Me….
FW was kicked by admin: Made me hurt inside. I love that admin, he made me lol.

Posted by ert
I take enemy flag, as scout, and take it half way across the map on Sawmill. Sniper takes me down. Freeweekender takes flag and runs into saws and dies. *facepalmed* 2nd freeweekender takes flag and brings it all the way back to enemy base thinking it was our base and gets killed…*facepalmed again*
I dont really kno if they were freeweekenders or just plain noobs, but their actions still remain the same…

Posted by Ra1n
“when does the free weekend end?”

Check out the full free week end thread here: http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1076886&page=43

Responses

  1. epic! thank you alder, you just made my day

  2. You gotta love ignorance. This is why I still have faith in the human race. Because ignorance is too damn funny to let go.

  3. the links is down. 😦

    too many wow players think, that every other game is like that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

